Skip to main content

Creative Intelligence - an oxymoron

So you and I have just found out (like we didn’t know it before) that there is a creative intelligence that exists in all of us… even if you didn’t believe it before… it has to be true! What one has… we all have… like it or not (even though our egos would have us think otherwise!).

The difficulty that I have discovered (again… like I didn’t know before!) is that I can lack the discipline to act on this creative intelligence. How do we bring about the appropriate application that will stop us from joining the masses of humanity that sit on their proverbial thumbs watching the world go by, making justifiable excuses to not do something, not accomplish something, not try something….

“I’m tired, I’ll do it later”, or “I don’t know enough” (kinda like I’m not smart enough), or “it’s too hard”, or “it won’t work anyway” or “I don’t deserve it” (usually more quietly admitted)!

I can stop myself before even starting if I’m not careful to not stop at the stop sign. My impulse (default thinking) is to enjoy and listen to the justification, not to listen to the potential benefits of a particular application.

Some of you may remember the question that changed how I work with clients… If I don’t have what I think I want in my life… why not? What is the obstacle that I/we present that disables and justifies not moving forward? Answer that riddle and fly forward… go beyond limitation!

So, on a more concrete note about application… I’ve discovered that there is likely a direct connection with how much I write with how much I’m reading. Eureka! Another revelation. Read more = write more… Write more = read more… hhhmmmmmmm. The “secret” is mindful discipline to set a schedule, to not watch tv, to be mindful of all the excuses that I can entertain myself with to not do something…. Instead of to do something!

Until later
Leland
http://www.counsellingandmediation.com/
Leland@CounsellingandMediation.com

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Blame Game

yabutyou!!!!! How many times do we hear ourselves or others saying (or thinking) this? We seem to want to displace our personal responsibilities onto others, as if to say I am not responsible.... or you made me do that! We see it in extreme cases where people may be prone to interpreting what others have said as an implied (or direct) criticism or threat to our existence. For example, a person who hits their child (or wife) and while doing so will say, "look what you made me do!" I know it seems insane to believe that we are all capable of doing this in some fashion... and I'm not saying everyone hits their child (or wife)... but don't we all like to blame others or circumstances for explaining why we are in an uncomfortable predicament that we're in? Isn't far more convenient to blame... relieving us of the responsibility to be accountable? Another example... 2 Children arguing in the school yard. You ask them "who started it" and they will invariab...
We’re all victims… Aren’t we? This could be the most difficult article to read you’ve ever read! Pretty much everyone I speak with has, at one time or another, felt victimized by another. Some have unknowingly created a mindset or perspective of victimization.   We’re all smart people, right? So how does this happen? It typically occurs predominately in close relationships; relationships where we think it shouldn’t happen… but does. Why? Most immediately respond by blaming and finding fault with the perpetrator of the behaviour that leads to the feeling of being victimized. I’m not suggesting for a minute that real victimization does not occur, nor is it my intent to minimize, excuse or defend the harm that can be created by others… whether intended or not. This is to rather help better understand the why this victimization occurs in the first place. Often when I’m working with a client in this situation I’ll at some point during their therapy question them about the role they may ...

Addiction... New Treatment

Addiction - Why traditional methods may not work... I have to premise this writing with a concern that some may have over it's content. I do not intend to say absolutely that current treatment doesn't work, only to help explain why it seems so difficult to overcome addiction and to suggest alternatives.  It has been contended for years that addiction is not a disease. It shares some of the hallmark signs of disease, but it is not. It is a the result of a serious chronic health imbalance. The underlying psychological, physiological  and biological issues are the primary concern. It is more complex than some have been led to believe. I ask myself, why is it that people of sound mind and body, would consciously behave in a manner that will knowingly cause harm to themselves or others? That is hard to believe. Very few clients I have met in my 30 years of working the field have been psychopathic, sociopathic or schizophrenic... or simply unable to distinguish between reality and n...